Tags

, ,

My first encounter with snow was second hand through my Father. As a young man, just out of school, he was sent to England to continue his education there. He had a cousin along with him. One day, sitting in a pub by the window, the two boys from Upper Egypt watched as white little feathers started flowing down in front of the window. Their first thought was that someone up there was plucking the feathers of a goose. Typical of boys from the Egyptian countryside! But when they realized it was snow, out they went cavorting in it to the amusement of all those staid Englishmen and women.
His next encounter was with the ice that happened after the snow. There was a girl he was trying to impress. She was standing at the bottom of the road when he was coming out of his quarters, which were on slightly elevated ground. He took one step and promptly slipped on his back, to his horror he was sliding at an accelerated pace towards her, arms and legs flailing in the air, to come to a stop at her feet. The girl was doubled over with laughter. Of course after such an introduction nothing came out of that budding romance. My Father’s dignity was too bruised. But he recovered enough to be able to tell his family the story, and see the humor of it, years later.
My personal experience with snow was different. Of course I had seen hail, maybe a couple of time in Cairo, but snow, never. The first time was when I went to visit my brother in Colorado, in the States, in December. I got there late in the evening and the next morning I woke up to a white world. Like my Father before me, I went out cavorting in the snow, taking a million pictures of just white! But the exhilaration, the sharpness of the air, and that feeling of pure joy is something I still remember.
It is now raining a deluge here. My house has a leaky skylight, so we are prepared with plastic sheets that we lay down in the hall under the skylight to catch all the rain falling into the house. For Pixie this is her first experience, and like me with the snow, she went cavorting all over the hall, trying to catch the raindrops. Enterprising little devil. The gardens look pristine, practically shining with color from the wash they got from the rain and the dogs are all curled up in their houses, warm and cozy. I do hope we get some snow here like I’ve seen in some pictures posted of different areas of greater Cairo. Will have to wait and see.

