Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

image
My babies are finally here. There were a couple of delays, but they are finally home. They arrived around 1.45 and it took a few minutes to change their collars to the ones I had bought them, then coax them into jumping out of the car. Once they did, they started running the length of the front garden.

image

They must have been cooped up for long, it was good to see them stretching their legs.

image
It was over an hour past their feeding time so we brought them their food and they did it justice in no time. Though Prince kept growling at Queeny and half way through switched plates.

image

I cannot blame them. They probably had to contend with quite a few other dogs at the shelter at feeding time. I am sure that they will settle down soon once they feel secure about their next meal.
After loading the water tank into the car – it could take only one – the driver left and they were totally on their own. I expected them to be a bit scared, and though Queeny was shaking a bit when first leaving the car, yet both seemed to take to the garden like fish to water.

image
I was walking around with them, while my gang was going crazy behind the white fence trying to get a glimpse of them. I finally took them to the door on the other side of the garden where noses poked out, and noses poked in for an up close and personal sniff, then a hasty retreat on both sides.

image
I then took the new pair to show them their new houses. They sniffed them but did not seem to be very interested. They were more interested in the dogs behind the fence, and in the gardeners walking around with them. In a bit they started bonding with one of the gardeners.

image
After feeding the rest of the dogs, my two gardeners took both Prince and Queeny for a short walk around the block, to familiarise them with the surroundings, to give the dogs confidence in the gardeners and to start the bonding process. On coming back, they rushed over to me and my heart soared. It looks like the bond between us has already been established.
I took them over to show them the kitchen garden which they explored thoroughly and seemed to enjoy as well.

image

As I am wary of introducing them right away to the rest of the clan, I thought it might be a good idea to introduce them to the most lady-like of them, so I took Cookie to meet them. It took them maybe a couple of minutes to sniff one another, and they bonded. Good start. I hope it goes just as well with the rest of the clan.

image
Prince is very well behaved. Although he started growling and even barked at the rest of the clan – which naturally elicited some more growls and barking from them – the moment I said “No”, looked at him and raised my finger, he immediately piped down and looked guiltily at me, which absolutely melted my heart.
By late afternoon those two felt so much at home they started playing together. As Prince is much bigger, and though he is neutered he tried to mount Queeny, I feared for her as she is still recovering from her operation, so once I said “no” again and held up my finger for emphasis, he stopped. Though he tried again a few times, but each time I had the same reaction, so he finally realised that such behaviour was unacceptable and stopped. He is a darling, very smart and I am so thankful that his sprit has not been broken.
At 6.40 in the evening they were all given their second meal of kibble which they all devoured. He still growled at Queeny, but we put some distance between them and each one finished his/her plate without interference. They were then medicated and given a free reign of the front garden. I am hoping that they will settle down soon and take to their new houses.
I shall be keeping them apart from the original clan for a few days till they all get used to each others’ smell and existence, then I shall be introducing them one by one so as not to overwhelm any of them. I am hoping they get used to one another and become friendly, though the dynamics of such a group are never predictable.
I am counting my blessings and thanking God and ESMA for giving me my Christmas present today, the unconditional love of two beautiful creatures.
20 December 2015

