Troy slept badly and so did I, but I was still up at 7.30 to start his drip. It would be a long day with the trip to the vet at the other end of town. I wanted an early start fearing congested traffic as the feast was over and people were back to work.
From the very start nothing worked right. It took me way too long to get the drip going, and it took me even longer to get his shots ready and to give them to him. The drip usually takes around three hours, so we were done about 11.30 and our vet’s appointment wast for one in the afternoon.
The drive there was long but without incident, and at the end we still got lost, but eventually got to the clinic by 1.30. The clinic was full of cats and dogs, but as Troy was rather critical, the vet came out and took us in. It was obvious to the rest that Troy needed special, immediate care, so there were no objections to what might have appeared as jumping the queue.
He weighed Troy again and I was pleasantly surprised to find that he had gained a quarter of a kilo. He took his temperature, it was normal. He listened to his chest then asked me for details of what has been happening. I gave him the details and he was cautiously optimistic that Troy had taken in some food and retained it.
He basically said that we were still not out of the woods yet and prescribed a couple of more medications to what he was already taking, one more shot, twice a day and one more different kind of drip, a small bottle, but to be given daily. This meant that I should be staying with Troy for an average of six to seven hours between the morning drip and the evening drip and the mid day drip. That effectively took care of my day. Not a problem as long as he got better.

image
The vet asked to see him again next Saturday to assess progress and to see to the medication and the doses. This looked like a long haul, so I started putting my social life in order and let my friends know that for the next few weeks I would not be available.
The trip back was very long. We stopped at a great many pharmacies to get all the medications and drips needed. One pharmacy would have one medicine but not the others, and another would not be carrying enough for my needs for the full week. But eventually I managed to buy all I needed for the next week, and we finally got home.
It was late afternoon and I needed to give Troy at least one meal before we started the evening drip. He gave me a hard time with the baby food, barely eating half a tiny jar, but he drank all the water..He was very impatient with the following ten minutes needed before we was to be let go, to give the food time to reach his stomach. Eventually the ten minutes were over and we let him go. Ten minutes later everything came up again. I was deeply disappointed, but did not give in to despondency. It was a long, exhausting day and he must have felt it doubly so being so sick. So this was just a normal, to be expected, reaction.
I took twenty minutes to take my shower and gobble down my dinner before I started him on his evening drip. The drip went well as this was a new cannula put in by the vet, and I gave him his shots, which also went well.

image
It was those hours of sitting there keeping my eye on him and on the drip that I got the opportunity to do a great deal of my writing. I had never been as prolific as I was those days. Not only did my writing while away those long exhausting hours, but they gave me many ideas for my articles in Arabic.There was always a silver lining to every cloud.
An even wider silver lining appeared when I found a friend who might be able to help with the building of the Bailey char. On the whole it was a better week than was expected.

