Tags

,

image
I never expected that losing Cookie would be so hard. She was my Mom’s dog.
She came to me when she was two or three years old after being handed over from one person to another. When my Mom first saw her, she fell in love with her; and it was mutual. They became inseparable. When we traveled by car she sat on my Mom’s lap. When we were at home she sat on the same chair. She slept in her bed at her feet.
When my Mom passed away, it took Cookie a few weeks to stop sleeping at her door. I used to forcibly carry her with me to my room. Seeing her there waiting for my Mom broke my heart.

Digital StillCamera

Digital StillCamera

Over the past three years since my Mom passed away, cookie has gradually latched on to me, but never the same as with my Mom.
Two weeks ago Cookie, whose appetite was phenomenal, started eating less, then we had to coax her to eat, then she completely stopped. I took her to the vet, we had an ultrasound done and it turned out her kidneys were ok but there were things on her liver which could not be identified without a biopsy. This was out of the question, considering her age and her current state of health. So she was prescribed medications, and she, along with Troy were put on the drip.
Cookie gave me a very hard time administering her medication, but I would not relent. One day last week I was up till two in the morning trying to get her to take the drip. I finally did.

image
But this morning she wasn’t well at all. I was worried about her. I had a commitment and had to leave, but before I left I gave her a hug. I told my boys to check in on her every once in a while. At 2 pm I got a call from one of the boys that Cookie had passed away. It was expected. I knew she was very sick and was expecting it to happen. I was on my way back in the car, thankfully not driving when suddenly it hit me.
My last link to my Mom and our life together here in the house is gone. It was as though I had lost my Mom over again. I cried all the way home.
When I got home I was told that she was in my bathroom. I went there and she looked asleep, but her eyes were open. She was still warm. I petted her head like I always did, bade her goodbye and then the boys took her to bury her with the rest of my dogs.
Another piece of my heart broken and buried. But I am sure that my Mom is very happy to have her favourite pet back with her, and I am sure Cookie is warmly cuddling in her lap. They are now together again.

Digital StillCamera

